Customs Comptroller-General, Adeniyi Bags Award on Revenue Collection ue

The Comptroller-General of Customs (CGC), Adewale Adeniyi on Saturday received award for  “Outstanding Revenue Collection”.

President Bola Tinubu presented the Nigeria Excellence Award in Public Service (NEAPS) organized by Office of Secretary of the Government of the Federation at Banquet Hall, Abuja.

This is recognition of his significant achievements in revenue generation since his appointment as Comptroller-General of Customs in June 2023.

The Comptroller-General of Customs (CGC), Adewale Adeniyi

The Vice President, Senator Kashim Shettima, representing President Tinubu, emphasised that the awards were about embedding a culture of recognition and reward in the public service ethos.

He conveyed the president’s message that public institutions are not personal enterprises and that public servants are employees of the Nigerian people.

The Customs Boss while addressing newsmen affirmed his commitment to advancing Nigeria’s economy through revenue collection and trade facilitation.

Adeniyi appreciated President Tinubu, SGF Akume and NEAPS for the recognition, stating, “This national recognition is a challenge for the Service to double its efforts in making this country proud. It motivates public officials to dedicate themselves and perform diligently in office.”

Earlier, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator George Akume, urged the award recipients to continue their exemplary work. He emphasised that the selected individuals and organisations were chosen based on objective criteria from both the public and private sectors.

Among the 44 recipients of the Nigeria Excellence Awards in Public Service were Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the House of Representatives Tajudeen Abbas, Chief of Staff to the President Femi Gbajabiamila, and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President (Office of the Vice President) Senator Ibrahim Hadejia. Governor Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State, Seyi Makinde, the Governor of Oyo State, Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun, Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa State, Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State, Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, and Governor Peter Ndubuisi Mbah of Enugu State were recognised for their sector-specific interventions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: