Disquiet In Kwara APC Over Primary Elections

Oyewale Oyelola, Ilorin

The delay in announcement of winners that emerged from primary elections conducted by APC Electoral panel in Kwara state on Friday and Saturday across the state has being generating mixed reactions from aspirants and party members.

The primaries for national assembly; three senatorial district and six federal house of representative seats was held on Friday across the 193 wards in the state.

While, the governorship primary election was conducted in all ward using direct primary system to elected flagbearer of the party in next year general elections.

Thirteen aspirants that include Dele Belgore, Prof. Oba Abubakar, Mashood Mustapha, Lukman Mustapha, Saliu Mustapha, Abdualrahman Abdulrasak, Yahaya Seriki, Modibbo Kawu, Abdulwahab Omotoshe, Abdullahi Yaman, Audu Tajudeen and two others.

However, the panel chairman in midway to the poll issued a statement via Harmony FM announcing non-clearance of Mashood Mustapha and Saliu Mustapha.

The announcement disrupts the process as supporters of affected aspirants were left in confusion because the action was alien to APC constitution.

Hon Mashood Mustapha and Saliu Mustapha in separate press conference held on Saturday night called for cancellation of the governorship and conduct of fresh poll.

Mashood Mustapha, a former federal lawmaker described his disqualification from the race on election day as illegal and against party guidelines for primaries.

He accused some elements at state level of using the gimmick to edge him out, when they realised he was coasting home with victory.

The two disqualified aspirants also submitted their petition to the electoral panel.

Meanwhile, the panel operating from Collation Center in Savannah Hotel, Ilorin are yet to release the governorship election result 48 hours after the election.

Our correspondents who monitored the election report that the governorship primary election was characterized by vote buying, Vote sharing, intimidation/cohesion of party members to support a particular aspirant, violence and other electoral malpractices.

APC members in Kwara state are still waiting for the official results of primary election as at time of filing this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: