Bayelsa 2023: Sylva Wins APC Primaries

The former governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timipre Sylva has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) gubernatorial primaries in a landslide to defeat Chief David Pereworimini Lyon and four others.

The APC gubernatorial primaries were conducted in all 105 wards in the state on Friday, using the direct primary mode.

Announcing the results at the state APC secretariat on Saturday, the chairman of the APC Primary Election Committee and Returning Officer, Maj. Gen. A. T. Jibrin, retd, said Sylva polled a total of 52,061 votes to emerge, the winner, while an ex-agitator, Chief Joshua Maciver came a distant second with 2,078 votes, with the former Governor elect Chief David Lyon, coming third with 1,582 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: