How Pro-Abiodun Lawmakers Removed Ogun Speaker, Oluomo

18 Ogun State House of Assembly members reportedly loyal to Governor Dapo Abiodun on Tuesday removed  Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo.

Oluomo was removed by by 18 out of 26 members during the plenary presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Mrs Bolanle Ajayi.

The lawmakers accused Oluomo representing Ifo State Constituency of gross misconduct, high-handedness, lack transparency, financial misappropriation and pursuit of selfish interests.

Adegoke Awoso (APC-Yewa North 1), moved the motion for the impeachment of Oluomo while it was seconded by Ademola Adeniran another APC lawmaker representing Sagamu Constituency II.

Adeyanju, popularly called Awoso had reportedly entered the assembly chamber with the mace in the company of other lawmakers.

The former speaker was attending swearing-in of customary court judges at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Abeokuta

The lawmakers later elected Oludaisi Elemide (APC-Odeda) as the new speaker.

Recall that the impeached speaker is standing trial over financial misappropriation of N2billion.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission had in September 2022 filed an 11-count charge bordering on conspiracy, forgery and stealing against Oluomo, and three other staff members of the legislative arm.

The charge was filed by the EFFC’s Lagos Head of Legal Monitoring Unit, Rotimi Oyedepo, at the Federal High Court, Abeokuta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: